Today I am making my own declaration as July 13 as my Simona Halep Day. For those of you who are not a tennis follower, Simona won the 2019 Wimbledon Women's Tennis Championship. The finals today was one of the most exciting one I have ever watched. She had a lot of winners and only three unforced errors. During her interview after the awards ceremony, she was so humble, sweet and very appreciative of her family, training team and of course all the support of her country. I wish her luck on her next tournament, hopefully she will also win the US Open 2019. That will make this year an amazing one for her and for her dreams to come true. There were so many other great things she mentioned during her interview. Just love everything about her. Today is definitely a great day for tennis.
Showing posts with label tennis. Show all posts
Showing posts with label tennis. Show all posts
Saturday, July 13, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Match Game Monday - Wimbledon Winners
Two weeks of tennis is almost over. So far three of my favorites are still in (Novak, Rafa and Roger). As for the women section, I only have one left and that is Simona Halep. Of course you know that there's still one that I am not a fan of and she is still in it. Sometimes I think that if she does retire, she might get a job being a sports commentator. Now what do I do, watch all the games with the sound off??? It is bad enough now that her coach is already doing some of the coverage. Anyway, I don't have any control or say on that issue but I know how to resolve it. Just watch the match I love and delete all the games I am not fond of watching. After this weekend, I will have a break before the US Open which begins on August 26. Of course I am already looking forward to it but there's one more before that which is the Rogers Open in Toronto. Not as big as the four majors but still tennis and I still record most of the matches. I wish all my favorites the best of luck for the semi finals and finals. Whoever wins on the men's side will be of course the best. As for the women, as long as it's any of the other player wins, I am happy. I have enjoyed watching most of the match but I wish some of the commentators stop predicting and stop comparing themselves to the now players. They have had their claim to fame in the past and they should just stick to the players performance and not bring up some of their experience. Now do you wonder why I sometimes watch the tennis matches without the sound??
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Tournament Tuesday - Australian Open
It is truly amazing how much tennis one can watch, I guess if you are a true tennis fan, which I am. So this is the last week of the AO tournament and unfortunately some of my favorites have been out a little too early for my liking. There are still a few that I am cheering for but the one player I get very sad when he does not go forward is RF aka Roger Federer. Sometimes I think some of the sports caster are jink to him when they do this forecast, statements, etc before his game. I wish they just stick to what their job is and not be fortune tellers. Truly, I don't want to get started on some of these sports commentator. Some of them are so annoying as they always talk about when they were great, etc. It's many moons ago, some of these new players weren't even born and they don't know about you. Others are way too much on their playing favorites and usually they are cheering for the USA players. I understand you want to cheer for your own, but don't make it too obvious even when the non USA player are doing very well and playing their best, they are still obviously cheering for their team. Anyway, without complaining too much and sharing what my mind is thinking, I just want to share some of my favorite moments.
- During a press conference after a game, Rafa noticed one of the reporters with his eyes close, possibly taking a nap. You have got to see Rafa's expression. I kept watching it over and over and each time I just kept laughing. Then when the reporter finally woke up, Rafa said "I guess it's not an interesting day".
- After an amazing match and Alexander Zverev was being asked regarding maybe switching to the sleeves shirt like RAFA, he says, "when Rafa wears it, it is intimidating" and "if I wear it, Rafa will be laughing", look at me, I have been given a nickname of "asparagus".
- As for the most inspiring and emotional win was for TIAFOE. He won his match against Dimitrov (my other favorite) on his 20th birthday. So young and already so good.
- On the women's side, I am very hopeful that OSAKA goes forward to the finals. I really don't care who she plays against, I just want her to win.
- Let us not forget one player who thinks she's very fashionable and wears something totally different, when in fact she looks like she is going to a wrestling match, or maybe it's a cut off onesie??
Friday, January 20, 2017
Federer Friday - He's moving forward
As sad as it was when Novak lost to Istomin, I am very happy to see my favorite tennis player of all time. Roger is moving on to the Round of 16. Of course I also need to cheer for Raonic, Nadal and Ferrer. Unfortunately on the women's side, I don't have many choices
left. With Maria Sharapova still out of the circuit and Ana Ivanovic retiring and others have lost on the earlier rounds, there's not much to watch. By the way, this year I decided to spare my stress level by not watching any of the games of the Williams sisters. Almost forgot, I cannot understand why ESPN had to hire that guy to co host at the booth. His opinion is so biased when it comes to the player he is coaching. I don't want to listen to his comments so I just speed forward. What is so sad about it, he will be there in all the four majors this year. He should just keep coaching and stay away from covering the tennis matches. There are so many great ones like John and his brother Patrick McEnroe. The funny Brad Gilbert and of course the nice guy Darren Cahill. Not so fond of a couple of the women sports caster but they are still better than that other guy. We'll there so much more
tennis to follow, about another week of it. Good luck to all my favorites.
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Tennis Tuesday - US open begins without RF
The
day after my BFF left, the US Open 2016 began in Flushing Meadows, NY.
It's hard to believe that Roger Federer is not participating. Then on
the women's side, Maria Sharapova is also not playing. Even a lot of
the players are saying that it's not the same without RF.
Of
course there are still other favorites like RAFA, Novak, Ferrer, and
more. With almost 10 hours of recorded coverage, I can be really picky
on which match I watch. This year I decided that instead of me getting
annoyed watching the ones that I dislike, I am boycotting their match
and skip it all together. It's the only way to enjoy watching tennis.
Like the other night after Rafa's match, he tried to hit the ball
towards the roof. He was all smiles and gave a great interview. After
winning his match on the third round, he gave another amazing interview
on the booth with the ESPN team. He is such a nice man, very
professional, humble, funny and respectful. I don't understand why
these two women that I dislike cannot learn from him. Anyway, I have
one more week of exciting tennis and I will definitely cheer for my
favorite players who do not have the attitude, excuses and very bad
sportsmanship. I am sure you all know who I am talking about. By the
way, to make it worst ESPN added in their team this guy who is the coach
of the one player that I dislike, which means every time he speaks he
is talking about her. There are so many other X tennis pro that can
take his place, why him. BTW did you know that Rafa Nada now has a
museum in his hometown Mallorca, Spain? He also has a tennis academy. Maybe someday I can get a chance to tour both.
Monday, February 1, 2016
Mishap Monday - Celebrate the loss
February 1st, a new day, a new week and a new month. As you may recall, two weeks ago my favorite NFL team lost at the AFC. My broken heart was just starting to heal when some of my favorite tennis players started losing, some even as early as the first round. Rafa left after the first match. Federer and Ferrer lost during the semi-finals. Maria S. lost at the quarter finals. I started feeling really bad during the last week of the Australian Open. Then for some reason things change on the weekend. There was something to celebrate. You are probably wondering how can a loss be a reason to celebrate. For those of you who know me and tennis, you will have figured this out. The men's finals was just OK since we sort knew that Novak will win as he is currently in the zone or at his prime. For now I will have to wait until the next tournament which is the French Open in May, Wimbledon in June and US Open in late August. Good luck to my favorites.
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Wimbledon Wednesday - It's almost over
Only a few more days left and Wimbledon will have the final winners. Although I enjoyed most of the matches, there are some that I just fast forward. If you have been following my blog, you know who I don't cheer for and don't want to listen to their interview. It would be a much better tennis world if they are not part of it. But can you imagine if they did retire and became part of the sportcast team for tennis. OMG, I think that would even be worst. For the women's section, I am cheering for Maria Sharapova. She is such a great player with no drama as well as very professional during interviews. As for the men's section, my all time favorite Roger Federer is going to play the semi finals against Andy Murray, of course I will be cheering for Roger. During the last week matches, they showed one of his tweets with a bunch of emojies. I loved it. After this weekend, I will have to wait a whole month before the US Open 2015 begins. At least the time difference will only be three hours. Good luck to all my favorites and look forward to seeing your matches this weekend and at the US open.
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Superlative Sunday - Most likely to become tennis players
After watching a lot of Late night with Jimmy Fallon, my post today is a spin off from his Superlatives. It is also related to Wimbledon since for the last week I have been watching a lot of tennis matches and more of it for another week. Just to explain it a bit, I have taken a picture of some of the children of family and friends. Some were an easy match but others maybe not be as similar as others. It was fun doing it and I hope you enjoy all of them.
Friday, January 23, 2015
Faulty Friday - Federer Failed
My favorite tennis player of all time Roger Federer failed to move forward to the quarter final. It's so heart breaking to see him with so many double faults and unforced error. Most of his matches was not an easy three set wins. Late last night as I watch his third round match with Seppi, the non seeded Italian player, I saw how difficult for Roger to get his first serve in. Anyway, I ended up not having a good night sleep only to hear the comments this morning over and over, how he lost the match. Most of the commentators who were previously tennis stars could not believe what happened to Roger's game. I am sure Roger just wants to go home and spend time with his family. There's three more big events and he will come back fresh and ready to win more. I am a big fan and have been faithful, win or lose. He is like a son to me, born the same month and same year as my Gino. As a mother, you want to see your son succeed in whatever he wants to achieve. I wish him good luck and great health for 2015. RF, you will always be the greatest tennis player of all time. By the way I love his bright green shirt, which reminds me of my son's favorite color.
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Tantrum Tuesday - Tennis Tears
After watching tennis for the last seven days, it is time to provide my own highlights of the US open tennis 2014. For those of you are not interested in tennis at all, you might just find this post a little boring. This is actually just some observations from watching the coverage. I have not read any of the news posted on line or other type of social media. Here it goes:
- ESPN shows only the doubles match of the Williams sister. I think they should show the BRYAN brothers matches instead. It's much more skills and no drama.
- Maria's pick of outfits are not as exciting as all the previous US open. Both her evening and daytime outfits seems like no thought was put into it.
- Roger Federer's matches are so exciting with a lot of great shots.
- If we could only hear what Serena said when she was unable to get a certain shots when playing against Lepchenko.
- It is amazing who fast some of the Men players were serving. Raonic, Isner, Krygios, Groth and Estrela Burgos.
- When Venus loses it seems like the excuse is she's not healthy and still fighting some type of illness which causes a person to be tired. For some of us, it's called Aging.
- Eugenie Bouchard (Canadian), great young player who is mature with an awesome personality. I love that she has her Genie Army everywhere and that she's good friends with Sheldon (Big Bang Theory). Good luck to Genie. GO Canada GO.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

